The Supply Chain and Logistics Function is critical to a high-performing NHS Trust. Having the right stock level, of the right product, means the Trust can perform the necessary procedures, without holding unnecessary products and negatively impacting cash flow; meaning both operational and financial targets can be met.  Good supply chain management practices minimise inventory and costs of inventory ownership whilst maximising inventory availability for consumers. 

The Materials Management service will provide a top up replenishment service on all consumable items by providing the ward/department with a regular order and putting away of goods  to replenish stock to agreed levels. We also provide an enhanced service in some key departments eg. Theatres. Providing a daily top up service of all items whilst managing numerous other stock issues such as, procedure specific picking process to further release clinical time, and Inventory scanning in line with the Scan4Safety initiative. We are pushing forward our processes daily by implementation of a dynamic inventory management system in line with the Scan4safety initiative.

The logistics service ensures a receipt and distribution of all items to the Trust and subsequent timely delivery to location required.  Furthermore we are pushing forward our processes daily by implementation of dynamic inventory management systems in line with the Scan4safety initiative.

The Supply Chain and Logistics function aims to enable the Trusts in the LPC to achieve the following objectives:

  • To ensure that the Trust operates in line with its Standard Financial Instructions covering all aspects of stock management of goods.
  • To drive up standards and improve performance of procurement in line with Lord Carter’s report.
  • To protect the Trust and minimise risks through means of appropriate managerial arrangements.
  • To obtain value for money while providing the best service.
  • To ensure the Trust’s approach to inventory management provides the maximum benefit in terms of requisitioning, shrinkage, waste, disposals and product recalls.
  • To provide standardisation of goods and traceability of usage.
  • To improve patient care by ensuring all goods used are fit for purpose and meet quality standards.
  • To ensure products are available for treatment of patients with minimal clinical effort.
  • To drive towards compliancy to Scan4Safety initiative.

Flowchart of people in logistics team

Role Name Email   Phone  
Head of Service - Logistics & Supply Chain Dave Harris David.Harris@elht.nhs.uk   07977504667  
Business Improvement Engineer Simon Bennett simon.bennett@elht.nhs.uk   07970898653  
Deputy Logistics & Supply Chain Manager - LTHTR Deborah Watson deborah.watson@lthtr.nhs.uk    07922359244  
Deputy Logistics & Supply Chain Manager  
- BTH
Thankachan Mathew thankachan.mathew@elht.nhs.uk   01253 957927  
Deputy Logistics & Supply Chain Manager  - ELHT Gary Farrimond gary.farrimond@elht.nhs.uk   07966415996  
Systems Engineer Ashley Jones ashley.jones2@elht.nhs.uk   07977504684  
Logistics & Supply Chain Co-Ordinator Matthew Kay Matthew.kay@lthtr.nhs.uk      
Senior Supply Chain Co-ordinator Anne Marie Morris annmarie.morris@elht.nhs.uk   07970898873  
Materials Management Service Manager Nafeesa Patel nafeesa.patel@elht.nhs.uk   07966407803  
Theatre Stores Manager Louis Fumagalli louis.fumagalli@elht.nhs.uk   01282 800021  
Lancashire Teaching Hospitals - Logistics & Supply Chain  
Theatre Stores Supervisor  Sanjai  Babu sanjai.babu@elht.nhs.uk   01772 523987  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  James Lamb  james.lamb@elht.nhs.uk   01772 523987  
Supply Chain Assistant Anthony Garrity  anthony.garrity@elht.nhs.uk   01772 523987  
Supply Chain Assistant Michael Biggs michael.biggs@elht.nhs.uk   01772 523987  
Supply Chain Assistant  Nicholas Gundersen  nicholas.gundersen@elht.nhs.uk   01772 523987  
Supply Chain Assistant  Biju Simon  biju.simon@elht.nhs.uk   01772 523987  
Stores Manager  Stuart Griffiths  stuart.griffiths@elht.nhs.uk   01772 522302  
Stores Supervisor  Jamie Taylor  jamie.taylor@elht.nhs.uk   01772 522302  
Stores Assistant  James Taylor  james.taylor@elht.nhs.uk   01772 522302  
Stores Assistant  Jake Wilkinson  jake.wilkinson@elht.nhs.uk    01772 522302  
Stores Assistant  Douglas Potter  douglas.potter@elht.nhs.uk    01772 522302  
Stores Assistant  Philip Dunderdale  philip.dunderdale@elht.nhs.uk   01772 522302  
Stores Assistant  Richard Woods  richard.woods@elht.nhs.uk   01772 522302  
Senior Supply Chain Coordinator Laura Topping  laura.topping@elht.nhs.uk   07854806787  
Supply Chain Assistant  Michael Sale  michael.sale@elht.nhs.uk   01257 245814  
Supply Chain Assistant  Ellis Morley  ellis.morley@elht.nhs.uk   01257 245814  
Supply Chain Assistant  Tracy Potter  tracy.potter@elht.nhs.uk   01257 245814  
Stores Supervisor  Michael Day  michael.day@elht.nhs.uk   01257 245076  
Stores Assistant  David Curley  david.curley@elht.nhs.uk   01257 245076  
Supply Chain Team Leader  Helen Charnley  helen.charnley@elht.nhs.uk   07711048523  
Senior Supply Chain Coordinator Tatjana Rostovska tatjana.rostovska@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Coordinator Christopher Breakell christopher.breakell@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  William Atherton  william.atherton@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  Wesley Wilkinson wesley.wilkinson@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Supply Chain Assistant  Trevor Maritz  trevor.maritz@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  Chanice Kirkham  chanice.kirkham@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  Peter Beard  peter.beard@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  Jonathan Slade  jonathan.slade@elht.nhs.uk    01772 524270  
Senior Supply Chain Assistant  Tomasz Palen  tomasz.palen@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Supply Chain Assistant  Vaidus Ivanauskas vaidus.ivanauskas@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Supply Chain Assistant  Donna Knowles  donna.knowles@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
Supply Chain Assistant  Daniele Lamberti  daniele.lamberti@elht.nhs.uk   01772 524270  
East Lancashire Hospitals - Logistics & Supply Chain  
Supply Chain Supervisor - Theatres Spencer Mulcahy spencer.mulcahy@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Ishmail Akuji ismail.akuji@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Bradley Fowler bradley.fowler@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Mariessa Ganem mariessa.ganem@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Kenneth Holden kenneth.holden@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Steven Houghton steven.houghton@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Wendy Osullivan wendy.osullivan@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Materials Management Operative Dominic Smith dominic.smith@elht.nhs.uk   01254 735607  
Supply Chain Supervisor - Theatres Luke Hirst luke.hirst@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Leighton Anforth leighton.anforth@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Jane Draper jane.draper@elht.nhs.uk    01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Thomas Fitton thomas.fitton@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Darren Hoyle darren.hoyle@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Ian Garnett ian.garnett@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Stephen Loughlin stephen.loughlin@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Albert Pickering albert.pickering@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Philip Sharples philip.sharples@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Mark Smith mark.smith@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Materials Management Operative Addison Wood addison.wood@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804257  
Supply Chain Coordinator John Kostilek John.Kostilek@elht.nhs.uk   07970898634  
Supply Chain Coordinator Cheryl Schofield cheryl.schofield@elht.nhs.uk   07970898865  
Supply Chain Coordinator Kathryn Wearden kathryn.wearden@elht.nhs.uk   07970898617  
Supply Chain Coordinator Gary Thompson gary.thompson@elht.nhs.uk   07976152330  
Supply Chain Coordinator Julian Barker - Fisher julian.barker-fisher@elht.nhs.uk   07966417606  
Supply Chain Coordinator Jane Waring jane.waring@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804384  
Supply Chain Coordinator Elizabeth Shapland elizabeth.shapland@elht.nhs.uk   01282 804383  
Materials Management Operative Mohammed Akram mohammed.akram@elht.nhs.uk  
01254 734570
 
Materials Management Operative Rameez Mukadam rameez.mukadam@elht.nhs.uk  
01254 734570
 
Materials Management Operative Jaqueline Kelly jacqueline.kelly@elht.nhs.uk  
01254 734570
 
Materials Management Operative Neil Porteous neil.porteous@elht.nhs.uk  
01254 734570
 
Materials Management Operative Aslam Suleman aslam.suleman@elht.nhs.uk   01254 734570  
Materials Management Operative Dillon Marsden dillon.marsden@elht.nhs.uk   01254 734570  
Materials Management Operative Simon Sutcliffe simon.sutcliffe@elht.nhs.uk   01282 80386  
Blackpool Teaching Hospitals - Logistics & Supply Chain  

Materials Management Coordinator

Jill Grugel Jill.Grugel3@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  

Materials Management Operative

Andrew Sommers andrew.sommers1@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Christine Smythe christine.smythe2@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Matthew Sheldon matthew.sheldon@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Justin Mayler Justin.Mayler@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Oliver Twyford oliver.twyford2@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Marc Morris marc.morris2@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Mark Taylor mark.taylor@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative David Clark david.clark2@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Neil Horrobin Neil.Horrobin@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Tony Edwards Anthony.Edwards@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Norman Schwab norman.schwab@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  
Materials Management Operative Jordan Worrall Jordan.Worrall@elht.nhs.uk   01253 953762  

LTH

Contact email:  supply.chainteam@lthtr.nhs.uk
Contact number: 01772 524270
Bleep 2283

BTH

Contact Email:  matmanblackpoolgroup@elht.nhs.uk
Contact Number: 01253 953110 / 01253 953120

ELHT

Contact Email: procurementstockhelpdesk@elht.nhs.uk
Contact Number: 01254 732985

"Currently, I am working on the implementation of an inventory management system with point of care recording, in line with Scan 4 Safety principles.  The initial implementation was focused on ELHT Theatres but we are now beginning to look to expand this project and use the learnings we have gained from the one site to affect our supply chain and logistics function across the three Trusts that the LPC serve.  We are continually striving to improve our stock top up and receipt and distribution service to the Trusts, so that we can provide a better service to all the areas we serve. We are exploring new processes and technology and aiming to standardise that process as much as we can across the three Trusts.

With Covid-19 and the PPE requirements still being in place I oversee the processes and smooth working of our consolidated PPE hub to ensure all our Trust staff have the essential PPE required.  Whilst also offering logistical support to the vaccination and LAMP programmes." - Simon Bennett, Business Improvement Engineer.

Scan4Safety is a pioneering initiative that is enabling the delivery of better patient care, improved clinical productivity and supply chain efficiency in the NHS.  It has also been identified as a key objective within the Carter report. The DOH states “Effective operational performance and management hinges on information. Scan4Safety has provided leading NHS trusts with data that now underpins better decision making and improved operational performance”

This relies on using GS1 and PEPPOL standards to identify every Product, Patient, Place, and Process

Scan 4 Safety Graphic

  • Patient - Improving safety, improving care.
  • Place - Everything trackable, everything traceable
  • Product - Everyhing recorded, everything accounted for
  • Process - Simplifying processes, releasing time to care

We aim to progress the deployment of a Scan4Safety with Inventory management system within all our Trust which would allow us, using the procedure list process, to associate product to patient, providing tracking and traceability of all consumable and implanted items. The basis of any system requires identification, barcoding and control of inventory which are all precursors to starting and delivering Scan4Safety.  Ultimately the implementation of the system and associated financial controls will allow the Trusts to not only meet its mandated requirements but to develop patient level costing on the real time basis utilising the functionality of procedure cards.